The Nobel Committee will name the winner of the prize for Economics

The Nobel Committee will name the winner of the prize for Economics

STOCKHOLM, October 12. The Nobel Committee for Economics at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Monday to announce the winner of the “the Prize in economic Sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel”, established by the State Bank of Sweden in 1968.

Nobel prize in Economics – the most prestigious prize in economic Sciences. Founded by the Bank of Sweden on the occasion of its 300th anniversary. The prize was first awarded in 1969.

Every October the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announces the name of the laureate is selected from nominations submitted by the Committee awarding the prize in Economics in memory of Alfred Nobel.

The nomination process begins in September and ends on 31 January of the following year. According to the rules, the names of nominees are not disclosed for 50 years.

Awarding the award winner comes together with the winners in other industries in the anniversary of the death of Alfred Nobel on 10 December. Each winner is awarded a medal, certificate and cash award.

SPECIAL project

Nobel wartime. As the Second world war influenced the discoveries and achievements
About inventions and discoveries of Nobel laureates associated with the bloodiest conflict in human history

The first Nobel prize in Economics were Ragnar Rishis of Norway and Jan Tinbergen of the Netherlands “For the creation and use of dynamic models to the analysis of economic processes”.

The last award, in 2014 was awarded to Jean Tyrol (1953) “the analysis of market power and regulation”.

Just from 1969 to 2014 the prize was awarded 46 times, and it became the winners of 75 scientists.

Only once in 1975 the Nobel prize in Economics was the Soviet mathematician, one of the founders of the principles of linear programming Leonid Kantorovich. In his work, the scientist attempted to unite the Humanities and the Sciences and apply the methods of mathematical analysis to solve economic problems.

The discrepancy between the number of awards and its winners due to the fact that one prize may be awarded to several persons.

The average age of the laureates at the time the award was 67 years. So far the youngest laureate is an American economist Kenneth arrow, who received the prize in Economics in 1972 at 51 years old; the most Mature became another American Leonid Gurvich, who received the award in 2007 at the age of 90.

Of the 74 laureates 73 are men. The only female laureate in Economics was Elinor Ostrom, who received the award in 2009.

According to the statutes of the Nobel Foundation, eligible nominators include members of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences; members of the memorial Committee of A. Nobel prize in Economics; the award of memory of A. Nobel in Economics; permanently employed professors of relevant disciplines of universities in Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland and Norway; heads of relevant departments at least six universities or institutions selected by the Academy of science; other scientists from whom the Academy will see fit to accept the proposals.