Media: agreement on the establishment of the TRANS-Pacific partnership will be signed in February

TOKYO, December 29. /Corr. Vasily Golovnin/. The U.S., Japan and 10 other countries, in October reached broad agreement on the creation of new regional economic blocs – the TRANS-Pacific partnership (TPP), will sign a corresponding agreement in early February. This was reported to news Agency Kyodo with reference to the official source.

See also

Medvedev highlighted the risks of inconsistencies in trade regimes of the WTO and the TPP

The United States welcomes the deal on TPP, Obama is going after a few months to sign

Prime Minister of Japan: Tokyo will make every effort to conclude the final agreement on TPP

According to the Agency, the venue of the signing ceremony has not been determined.

In the framework of the TPP is expected to gradually lower or completely abolish duties and other barriers to movement of goods, services and capital. The agreement involves Australia, Brunei, Vietnam, Canada, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, USA, Singapore, Chile and Japan. Interest in joining the TPP show Indonesia and South Korea.

The agreement will enter into force if ratified by the parliaments of at least six of the participating countries. Prime Minister Shinzo Abe intends to seek ratification in Parliament in the first half of the year. According to some experts, the TPP is intended as a means of countering China, which is increasing its influence in the region.


The TRANS-Pacific partnership (TPP) is a trade Pact, involving the complete abolition of customs duties on goods and services in the Asia-Pacific region. Originally to enter into this agreement have agreed Chile, New Zealand, Brunei and Singapore. Later negotiations have involved Australia, Vietnam, Canada, Malaysia, Peru and the USA. The invitation also received Mexico and Japan.