France has estimated the losses of the EU from the introduction of border controls within the Schengen countries

Road blocks and red tape caused by the reduction of border controls within the EU can reduce its annual gross domestic product (GDP) by €100 billion About it the Financial Times said Jean Pisani-ferry, head of the economic Agency of the French government France Strategie.

According to the Agency, the return of border controls between the 26 Schengen countries can make the economy of the block 2025 is 0.8% smaller than it would be with open boundaries.

“The short-term costs of regaining control, though considerable, but they are limited. But if the control is introduced on a regular basis, it can have a much greater long-term impact on trade and jobs”, — said the head of the France Strategie.

As for France, its economy, according to the Agency, with the introduction of border controls in the short term may lose between €1 billion to €2 billion, equivalent to 0.5% of GDP.

The tourists will start to prefer other countries, making the tourism industry of the country will lose $500 million to €1 billion in addition, the number of French working in Belgium, Germany, Spain, Luxembourg and Italy, will shrink by 10 million that will harm the economy of France for a further €300 million for Control of trucks at the border will cost Paris €60-120 million a year.

According to Pisani-ferry, the EU needs to find a more effective system to ensure safety, but block the “don’t have to constantly question the principle of free movement of citizens”. “It’s about the man, but he has a big impact on the economy”, — said the head of the France Strategie.

In recent years, many EU countries due to the high level of terrorist threat and influx of refugees from the Middle East, and Africa consider ways to strengthen security measures at their borders. Some countries, including France and Germany, has initiated the introduction of a new clause in the Schengen agreement, which allows them in case of emergency to carry out border checks.

To date, on strengthening border control said Austria, Germany, Denmark, Sweden and France, and Norway, which is not an EU member, but part of the Schengen zone.

On January 26, after the meeting of the head of the Ministry of internal Affairs of the countries of the European Union Brussels, recommended that the limit of the Schengen agreement for two years.

The Schengen zone includes 26 countries, of which 22 countries are members of the EU. The area has been functioning since 1995 and involves the abolition of border controls at the borders of countries that signed the agreement.