Obama signed the law on new sanctions against the DPRK

U.S. President Barack Obama, on Thursday, 18th February, signed a law expanding sanctions against North Korea, Reuters reported citing a White house statement. Earlier a bill on sanctions against Pyongyang approved by the U.S. Congress.

US impose new restrictive measures against North Korea in connection with nuclear and rocket programs of Pyongyang. Earlier, Washington has repeatedly talked about the possibility of the extension of restrictive measures against the DPRK.

In January of this year, Pyongyang announced the successful test of a hydrogen bomb. In a statement, the authorities indicated that Pyongyang will use a nuclear weapon in the case, unless it violated state sovereignty. On 7 February, the DPRK announced the successful launch of the rocket which put into orbit the satellite Kwangmyongsong-4 (“Bright star-4”) designed to monitor the Earth.

The launch was criticized by most Western countries. Moscow has also expressed criticism against Pyongyang. The UN security Council convened an emergency meeting on the issue.

The official White house spokesman Josh Ernest said that Washington agrees with the need for “effective response” to the missile launch.

Secretary of state John Kerry also said the United States will work with the Council on the application of “serious measures” against North Korea. The security Council plans to impose new sanctions against Pyongyang in the near future.

Later Barack Obama in a telephone conversation with South Korean President Park Geun-Hye and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe reiterated the willingness of the U.S. to expand sanctions against the DPRK. Sale and Washington have agreed on restrictive measures against North Korea outside the framework of the UN security Council.