In Russia created the independent trade Union of journalists

The trade Union of the 27 members of the media, in particular, the staff of editions of “the Media”,,, “Novaya Gazeta”, radio “Komsomolskaya Pravda”, as well as freelancers. Among them – the chief editor of “media zones” Sergei Smirnov, the correspondent of “Novaya Gazeta” Evgeny Feldman, correspondent Ekaterina Vinokurova. To join the trade Union also expressed the intention of the photojournalist Denis Sinyakov and journalist Oleg Kashin.

The purpose of the Union is to represent and protect social and economic interests and labor rights of media employees and the rights connected with the exercise of their professional activities. In particular, the organization will provide assistance to journalists, the victims of the attacks in Ingushetia on March 9 and the correspondent Alexander Sokolov, who is under arrest.

The participants of the meeting elected seven members of the trade Union leaders of the key activities of the organization: Executive Director responsible for fundraising for the protection of labour rights of journalists, cooperation with power structures, working with international NGOs and other trade unions, interaction with authorities and communication with media.

The highest governing body of the Union is the Congress. The decision on all questions shall be taken by simple majority, the articles of organization.

In the Union there will be restrictions on membership for ideological or political reasons. To join the Union may any employee of the mass media on the recommendation of two active Union members. The next Congress will be held in three months. On it, in particular, to decide on trade Union registration in Ministry of justice.

The initiative to form a Union that will protect the rights of journalists, was organized by employees of edition “the Media” after the attacks on journalists in Ingushetia on March 9. Then unknown on the border of Chechnya and Ingushetia have attacked about 20 media representatives from Russia, Norway and Sweden, who arrived in the region at the invitation of the “Committee for the prevention of torture.