The Dutch Parliament decided not to hurry with the abolition of the agreement on Ukraine

The majority in the Parliament of the Netherlands voted against the immediate abolition of the ratification of the Association agreement between the EU and Ukraine. The initiative was supported by 71 deputies, while against it suggested 75 people, writes De Telegraaf.

The vote in Parliament was initiated by the Dutch opposition after the last of the country’s referendum, in which 61% of participants opposed the EU Association with Ukraine. For the immediate withdrawal of the signature was made by was made by the socialist party and the nationalist freedom Party and other opposition Union. However, two shodaime the ruling coalition parties and two independent parliamentarians opposed the initiative.

According to Dutch News, the outcome of the vote will give the government more time to decide on Association of Ukraine and the EU. The authorities want to deal with this issue within two months. This will happen after the British referendum on EU membership and the end of the Dutch EU presidency, says De Telegraaf.

Last week, Dutch Prime Minister mark rutte has pledged to begin negotiations with the EU about the Association agreement with Ukraine, asking to postpone the revocation of the signing of Netherlands under the document. During debates in Parliament he explained that the immediate withdrawal of the signature may lead to the exclusion of Amsterdam-negotiations on the Ukrainian question.

The Association agreement between Ukraine and the EU consists of seven parts, which defines the issues of the reciprocal integration of Kiev in the space of the Union, in particular in the political, economic and other spheres. Political block of agreement was signed in March 2014, and economic — in June of the same year.

The document was passed by the Rada and European Parliament, but its final entry into force can take place only after ratification by the Council of the European Union, which brings together the 28 Ministers of member countries of the EU.