Poroshenko has imposed personal sanctions against the heads of 17 Russian media

The President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko has signed the decree about introduction of personal sanctions against the leaders of the largest Russian media. This is stated in the message on the website of the presidential administration.

It is noted that thus, the President enacted the NSDC decision, according to which until 31 December 2017, apply personal special economic and other restrictive measures to persons who “are creating real and potential threats to national interests, national security, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine, contribute to terrorist activities and violate the rights and freedoms of citizens, lead to the occupation of the territories, and creating obstacles to full-fledged implementations of the citizens of Ukraine proper rights and freedoms.”

All in the “black list” were 17 people. Among them, the General Director of channel Konstantin Ernst, General Director of the TASS news Agency Sergey Mikhailov, the former General Director of channel LifeNews Ashot Gabrelyanov, as well as chief editor of the TV company RT (Russia Today) Margarita Simonyan.

In February 2016, Ukraine had banned the broadcasting of 15 Russian TV channels, in particular channels “top secret”, “who’s Who”, the “Chanson-TV”, “amusement Park” and others. Were previously prohibited channels “Russia 24” “the First channel” “Russia 1”, NTV TNT, “Petersburg 5”, “Zvezda”, REN-TV,-TV, LifeNews, Russia Today.