Media reported about Putin’s order to close 10 special economic zones

President Vladimir Putin instructed the government to suspend the creation of new special economic zones and stop work ten inefficient SEZ, writes “Kommersant” with reference to the departmental correspondence, which could see the publishing. According to the publication, all existing SEZs would be transferred to the regions, and the creation of new will be suspended until the development of the common podhodom to them and to the territories of priority development. The order of the President is to be fulfilled by June 30.

In the disposal of the newspaper was also the order in charge of this issue Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Kozak, according to which the Ministry of economy must submit to the White house a draft report to the President until June 17.

Earlier the chief control and audit administration Konstantin Chuichenko, citing data from the audit chamber made a report to the President, which came to the conclusion that the SEZ did not become an effective tool to support the economy. To create a SEZ in 2006 was sent to 186 billion rubles, of which 122 billion rubles gave the Federal budget. The report stated that “the inconsistency of administrative decisions” has led to “inefficient use of budget funds”, the work of ten of the SEZ was proposed to terminate early.

The report noted that instead of the planned 25 thousand jobs by 2016, was established 18 thousand, while the creation of one workplace in a cost of 10.2 million rubles. These funds would be enough to pay their employees occupying the average salary of the Russian Federation for 25 years, the newspaper notes.

In August 2014, the government proposed to close two special economic zones due to their ineffectiveness: for three years there was not one investor, who wished to become their resident. However, the mass closure of inefficient SEZ out of the question.

Special economic zones have been created by special law in 2005. On January 1 in 30 subjects of the Federation was 33 SEZ (9 of industrial-production type, 6 technical innovation type, 3 port areas and 15 tourism and recreation).