Uzbekistan temporarily closed border for four countries

Uzbekistan has temporarily suspended the admission through border of citizens, vehicles and cargo from Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan. The ban will apply from 15 to 25 June, told “Interfax” the press service of the State border service of Kyrgyzstan.

The interviewee noted that for residents exclave Barak Kara-Suu district of Osh region (the territory of Kyrgyzstan, located in Uzbekistan) is an exception. They will be able to cross the border as usual.

The interlocutor of “Interfax” has not specified, what is the decision of the authorities of Uzbekistan. In addition to these four States, the country also borders with Afghanistan.

23-24 June in Tashkent will host the jubilee summit of the Shanghai cooperation organization (SCO). As the newspaper writes CA-NEWS citing the press-service of the interior Ministry of Uzbekistan, during the summit will be strengthened security measures. So, on some streets of Tashkent will restrict movement.

The Ministry also commented on the information that Tashkent will be closed for exit and entry at the time of the summit. “This information is false and baseless,” — said the Agency.