Russia has banned the importation of African fruit via Belarus

The Rosselkhoznadzor has decided to ban the import into Russia through Belarus pears, apples, strawberries, tomatoes, mushrooms, watermelons, grapes, figs, cherries and onion from a number of African countries. The Minister noted that the decision was made in connection with doubts in authenticity of certificates issued by the phytosanitary service of a number of African countries, and the possibility of smuggling under African goods embargoed plant products from EU countries.

In this regard, from 1 July 2016, the imports of the above types of vegetables and fruits from côte d’ivoire, Benin, Nigeria, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic and Mali are only allowed via international checkpoints on the state border of Russia.

On March 1, the Rosselkhoznadzor halted deliveries through Belarus plant products from Liberia, Kenya and India. This decision was also due to the danger of forgery of certificates from these countries and the possibility that the real place of origin of fruits and vegetables can be country came under the Russian embargo.

After that, the Rosselkhoznadzor imposed a temporary ban on the import into Russia through the territory of Belarus of plant products from Moldova.

Food embargo against EU countries, USA, Canada, Australia and Norway was introduced on 7 August 2014 in response to sanctions over the situation in Ukraine and annexation of Crimea. Later, the black list has been added another five countries — Albania, Montenegro, Iceland, and Liechtenstein (1 January 2016) Ukraine. Originally for import to Russia banned all types produced in the above-mentioned countries of cattle meat and poultry, pork, fish and shellfish, and shellfish, dairy products, cheeses, sausages, vegetables, fruits, roots and nuts. Later in the prohibited products list several times had changed. In June 2015 the validity of the Russian embargo was extended to August 2016.