Medvedev approved a list of prohibited until the end of 2017 products

The period of the ban on the import into Russia of a number of types of food products and agricultural raw materials has been extended to 31 December 2017. The corresponding decree issued pursuant to the June 29 presidential decree “On extending the special economic measures…” was signed by Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev, the document published on the government website.

Speaking yesterday at a government meeting, Medvedev said that the decision on the extension of the embargo from a year and a half made in order to provide “the most favorable and predictable working conditions” of domestic agricultural producers.

“We hope that farmers will make use of the situation, will be able to implement their investment plans, anticipating the needs of the Russian market, foreign food markets, and, accordingly, this market will be able to get solid footing,” — said the head of government.

Changes in the list of embargoed products and black list of countries not included, the food embargo still in effect against the United States, EU countries, Canada, Australia, Norway, Ukraine, Albania, Montenegro, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

Food embargo against EU countries, USA, Canada, Australia and Norway was imposed by the Russian authorities on 7 August 2014 in response to Western sanctions. Later, the black list has been added another five countries — Albania, Montenegro, Iceland, and Liechtenstein (1 January 2016) Ukraine.

Originally for import to Russia banned all types produced in the above-mentioned countries of cattle meat and poultry, pork, fish and shellfish, and shellfish, dairy products, cheeses, sausages, vegetables, fruits, roots and nuts. Subsequently, the list of banned products was several times amended.