Russia has made salt in the sanctions list of products

The Prime Minister of Russia Dmitry Medvedev signed a decree on expansion of the list of goods the importation of which from countries with earlier sanctions against Russia are prohibited. In accordance with the document published on the portal of legal information in the black list of added salt.

The ban on the import into Russia of salt from placed under an embargo of the United States, EU countries, Australia, Albania, Iceland, Canada, Liechtenstein, Norway, Ukraine and Montenegro shall come into force on 1 November 2016.

Previously a major supplier of salt to Russia was the Ukraine. According to Rusprodsoyuz, the annual demand for edible salt is about 1.5–1.6 million tonnes. In the first half of 2014 the share of imported salt in Russia ranged from 51,8% to 62%, while the main importers were the Belarusian “mozyrsalt” and Ukrainian “Artemsol”.

In early 2015 the CPS was preostanovlena imports of edible salt production “Artemsol”, explaining its non-compliance with the requirements of the content of impurities, iodine and organoleptic indicators.