Five countries after the EU extended sanctions against Russia

Montenegro, Albania, Liechtenstein, Norway and Ukraine joined the EU’s decision to extend by six months sanctions against Russia, said in a statement the head of European diplomacy Federica Mogherini, published on the website of the EU Council.

In it, Mogherini recalled that the Council of the European Union on 15 September extended the anti-Russian sanctions imposed because of the situation in Ukraine for another six months.

“The candidate [for EU membership] Montenegro and Albania, the countries of the European free trade Association Liechtenstein and Norway, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this decision. They will ensure that their national policies the Council’s decision,” — said in a statement. It also stresses that the European Union welcomes this decision.

On 15 September, the EU officially announced the extension for six months, until 15 March 2017, the validity of sanctions against Russian officials and organizations entered in 2014 due to the situation in Ukraine. “Assessment of the situation does not give cause to change the sanctions regime or the list of individuals and entities subject to restrictive measures”, — noted in the message.

We are talking about the so-called black list in which 146 people and 37 organizations. Its defendants denied entry to the EU territory and their assets in the bloc are frozen. The last time the EU extended the sanctions in March 2016. September 15 was just the deadline for their actions.

In addition, the EU imposed sectoral sanctions against Russia, restricting financial and commercial nature. The last time they were extended in July until 31 January 2017.