The foreign Ministry promised “response” to new EU sanctions

Russia will take “retaliatory measures” against the decision of the Council of the European Union to amend the list of sanctions of all deputies of the state Duma of the Crimea. This is stated in the message the Ministry of foreign Affairs of Russia, published on the Agency’s website.

According to the foreign Ministry, the sanctions against the people of Crimea and Sevastopol is “unjustified collective punishment of the people of this region for the free and democratic expression of will”. The Ministry stressed that “the issue of the return of the Peninsula” part of Russia “finally resolved” and the inhabitants of the Peninsula’s “legitimate elected their representatives to the Russian Parliament”.

“Restrictions against the deputies of the State Duma will not contribute to the restoration of normal dialogue between the legislative bodies of Russia and EU”, — said the Agency. This dialogue is now “in demand in the current difficult stage in Russian-eesovskaya relations,” added the Minister.

A formal decision on the inclusion in the sanctions list of the five state Duma deputies from the Crimea and Sevastopol was published in the official journal of the European Union Wednesday, 9 November. In particular, the list includes Ruslan Balbec, Konstantin Bakharev, Dmitry Belik, Andrei Kozenko, Svetlana Savchenko and Pavel Spirov.

Now in the black list of the EU included 157 people and 37 Russian companies.

That the EU decided to expand sanctions against Russia became known yesterday, 8 November. “The Council adopted a new proposal in the framework of the restrictive measures concerning actions that undermine the territorial integrity of Ukraine”, – said the Minister of Finance of the Slovak Republic Peter Kazimir.