Russia and China blocked the UN security Council a new resolution on Aleppo

Russia and China, as permanent members of the UN Security Council veto when voting Monday on a new resolution, which was ostanavlivali a seven-day ceasefire, according to Reuters.

In addition to Russia and China against a draft resolution voted Venezuela. For the resolution voted by 11 members of the security Council. Angola abstained. The new draft resolution was developed by New Zealand, Egypt and Spain. Earlier it was reported that the text of the draft document proposed a 10-day pause.

On Monday, the foreign Minister of Russia Sergey Lavrov, commenting on the draft resolution, said that a vote for him is a “provocative step.” The Minister explained that the draft resolution of the UN security Council it is “not about the departure of rebels, and an immediate ceasefire, and militants are no demands”.

According to Lavrov, pause “would be used to regroup and recharge forces and means of the extremists, thus, would impede the opening of Eastern Aleppo”.