25 winners of the Nobel prize in Economics has criticized the program of Le Pen

From 25 winners of the prize in Economics in memory of Alfred Nobel criticized the proposals that formed the basis of electoral programs of candidates for the French presidency of the Chairman of the national front party of marine Le Pen.

In the letter of nobilitv, published April 18 in the newspaper Le Monde emphasizes that the Le Pen and its representatives quoted the writings of the signatory scientists to justify their proposals on expulsion of migrants and the refusal to use the Euro. However, scientists themselves, and among them are Frenchman Jean Tyrol, to oppose the exploitation of their names.

“The signatories of this letter have different positions in the complex issues of monetary Union and policy incentives. But our thoughts come together to condemn the use of economic thought in the French election campaign”, – the document says.

The authors of the letter emphasize that European integration is necessary both to maintain peace on the continent, and for economic progress, promoted by her opponents change destabilisateur France and questioned the economic and political stability in Europe.

“Policies of isolationism and protectionism is a dangerous way of economic growth. Such measures lead to retaliation and trade wars. In the end, they would hurt both France and her trading partners”, – the document says.

The letter also emphasized that there is a big difference between refusal of entry into the Euro zone and the rejection already used in the single currency, as the migrants provided the competent integration – can create new opportunities for the host country.

“At a time when Europe and the entire world face unprecedented challenges, we need more solidarity, not less,” summarize the authors of the letter.

Published in Le Monde, the document was signed by Robert Solow (Nobel laureate in Economics 1987), William Sharpe (1990), James Mirrlees (1996), Amartya sen (1998), Robert Mundell (1999), Daniel McFadden (2000), Michael Spence and Joseph Stiglitz (2001), Daniel Kalman (2002), Robert Engle (2003), Finn Kydland (2004), Edmund Phelps (2006), Eric Maskin and Roger Myerson (2007), Peter diamond and Christopher Pissarides (2010), Christopher Sims (2011), Alvin Roth (2012), Eugene Fama, Robert Shiller and Lars Hansen (2013), Jean Tyrol (2014), Angus Deaton (2015), Oliver HART and Bengt Holstrom (2016).

The first round of presidential elections in France will take place on 23 April 2017. In case if the winner will not be recognized by none of the candidates will be held the second round on 7 may. According to recent opinion polls Ifop-Fiducial, in the first round of elections, the majority will not gain one of the contenders, and first place will take, Emmanuel Makron with 23% of votes. And Le Pen in second place with 22%. Pollsters predict a defeat Le Pen in the second round.

At the end of March 2017, Le Pen visited Russia and met in the Kremlin with Russian President Vladimir Putin. According to Putin, Russia does not intend to interfere in the election campaign in France.