Russia expels four canadian diplomats in retaliation

OTTAWA, March 30. /TASS/. Foreign Affairs Canada confirmed that from Russia will be sent four canadian diplomat in response to a decision by Ottawa to deport employees of the Russian diplomatic missions. This was announced on Friday, the TASS press Secretary of foreign policy Department Adam Osten.

“We can confirm that four canadian diplomat was declared by the Russian government persona non grata”, – he said, adding that the foreign Ministry staff and their families the Agency will provide “full support when they return to Canada”.

Austen recalled that Ottawa took the decision to expel four Russian diplomats in Moscow “in solidarity with our close ally the United Kingdom”. “This action was not directed against the people of Russia, with which Canada has a long and fruitful relationship. Canada remains committed to dialogue and cooperation with Russia on issues where [our country’s] face common challenges” – concluded the diplomat.

Earlier, the government of Canada has taken the decision to expel four Russian diplomats from the Russian Embassy in Ottawa and the Consulate General in Montreal in the case of the poisoning of ex-GRU Colonel Sergei Skripal and his daughter Julia in Salisbury. In addition, Ottawa has rejected three bids from the Russian government for the accreditation of diplomatic personnel to work in Canada.

On Friday, the Russian foreign Ministry had summoned the heads of diplomatic missions of countries who send the Russian diplomats. They were handed notes of protest, and also announced about the response.

In late March, the number of States in a coordinated action announced the expulsion of Russian diplomats in solidarity with the UK after the incident in Salisbury.