The United States will take measures against countries violating anti-Russian sanctions

WASHINGTON, April 9. /Offset. TASS Anatoly Bochinin/. The U.S. government would not hesitate to take punitive action against countries and individuals who violate acting against Russia sanctions imposed under the law “On combating the enemies of America by sanctions” (CAATSA). About it the correspondent of TASS on Sunday said the representative of us state Department.

“We fully comply CAATSA as ordered by the Congress and we will not hesitate to impose sanctions against any country or persons who violate the law,” – said the interlocutor of the Agency, responding to a question about further possible attempts of Washington to exert pressure on Moscow by the restrictions.

The Ministry of Finance of the United States in turn refused to clarify how the Agency intends to continue the sanctions policy towards Russia. “The Ministry of Finance reports in advance of the sanctions and does not comment about its possible actions,” said TASS in the Ministry.

The law on strengthening the sanctions regime against Russia and Iran and North Korea was passed by Congress in the summer of 2017, he was signed by the President of Donald trump in August. This document allows U.S. authorities to impose restrictions against customers of the Russian military-industrial complex in the case of major transactions. Specific volume in this case the law is not indicated, the decision taken by the state Department. Representatives of the US administration publicly assured that they were able to prevent Russia to sign contracts for several billion dollars.

At the same time, American officials have also argued previously that trying to dissuade Turkey from purchasing anti-aircraft missile systems s-400 “Triumph” Russia. But Ankara has repeatedly stressed that this transaction will take place exactly. Interest in these complexes show a number of other countries, including India.

The U.S. government on April 6 announced the introduction of sanctions against 38 Russian individuals and legal entities, including against the “Rosoboronexport”, “Russian financial Corporation” and “RUSAL”. In the black list also included the head of “Gazprom” Alexey Miller, the head of VTB Andrey Kostin, the owner of “Renova” Viktor Vekselberg, the General Director “Surgutneftegaz” Vladimir Bogdanov, Board member of “SIBUR” Kirill Shamalov, businessmen Igor Rotenberg and Oleg Deripaska, Suleiman Kerimov.