Zakharov: new EU sanctions against Russia, directed against the inhabitants of the Crimea

MOSCOW, July 31. /TASS/. New European Union sanctions against six Russian companies – subversive policy aimed against residents of the Crimean Peninsula. This was stated on Tuesday by TASS, the official representative of the Russian foreign Ministry Maria Zakharova.

According to her, these sanctions the West “encourages those who were engaged in the blockade of Crimea, and persecutes those who build civilian infrastructure”. “This is a subversive policy aimed against the people of the Crimea”, – said the diplomat.

On Tuesday the EU sanctions list, associated with the reunification of the Crimea with Russia, and the construction of a bridge across the Kerch Strait. As noted in the Official journal of the EU, the sanctions were imposed on six other Russian companies.

At the present time in relation to Russia there are several packages of sanctions of the EU: economic, individual restrictive measures and sanctions on the Crimea. The last package is a set of targeted sanctions against the Crimea, which European businesses are prohibited to maintain any connection. These measures taken in the framework of the so-called EU Strategy for the non-recognition of the reunification of the Crimea with Russia, are valid until 31 January 2019 with possibility of extension. According to the Council of the EU, to date, the restrictions imposed on 155 individuals and 44 organizations.