Who and why touched immigration Ordinance trump

On Friday, January 27, the US President, Donald trump has signed the decree “On the protection of the country from the entry of foreign terrorists” to tighten immigration rules in the country. According to the document, 120 days suspended American program of reception, of 90 days are prohibited entry into the United States citizens of certain countries, with the exception of diplomats. Indefinitely, that is, until a special presidential Executive order, prohibited the entry of refugees from Syria.

On Saturday, an unnamed U.S. state Department spokesman explained to The Wall Street Journal that a three-month ban on entry to the United States for citizens of seven countries: Syria, Iraq, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen. All these countries are inhabited mainly by Muslims and, except Iran, are now in a state of civil war. At least three of these countries of one of the parties to the conflict is the “Islamic state” (LIH, a banned terrorist group).

The decree trump said only a few exceptions to ban citizens. This is a diplomatic visa by the UN or NATO and other visa type G-related work in international organizations. As noted later, a representative of the Department of homeland security (DHS) Gillian Christensen, exceptions are not made even for holders of green cards that allow foreigners to live in the States. US citizens, this decree is not affected.

The wave of indignation

Since the adoption of the presidential decree on Friday evening hundreds of people were detained at the border control on arrival in U.S. airports. According to CNN, in just the first day after the publication of the decree, by Saturday evening, access to American territory was denied 109 the foreigners who arrived on a valid visa. On the other hand, the Ministry of the DHS emphasizes that it was denied less than 1% of 325 thousand people arriving daily in the United States on international flights.

In General, according to the Agency, for the first day of the ban, the decree has somehow affected 375 traveller. In addition to the 109 people stranded at U.S. airports, and another 173 people were removed from the flight prior to shipment to the United States, 81 the exemption was granted because of the presence of the holders of permanent residence status.

The largest number of detainees โ€” at least 12 people โ€” was in the largest us airport named after John F. Kennedy in new York. On Saturday, there began protests against “anti-Islamic” policies trump, subsequently spreading to other airports in the country. The Verge notes that among the protesters at the International airport of San Francisco was spotted Google co-founder, billionaire Sergey Brin, along with his parents moved to the US in 1979.

The American Union of civil liberties (ACLA) challenged the presidential decree. A Federal court in Brooklyn (new York area, where the John F. Kennedy airport) on Saturday partially suspended the decree. The court could not allow the detainees to enter the territory of the United States, but we gave them a temporary stay, to exclude the possibility of their deportation.

Suspicious seven

Critics of stricter immigration requirements was noted that the seven countries included in the stop-list according to the order, are just those middle Eastern countries, where the trump, being a businessman, had no business interests. This, for example, writes The Washington Post: “the list does not include some countries with a Muslim majority that had earlier problems with the terrorist threat, but in which the Trump Organisation conducts business”. Among these countries, the paper calls Egypt, Turkey and the UAE.

In the decree trump does not mention specific Muslim countries for whose citizens the restrictions on entry to the States. The document only refers to the countries identified in article 217 of the immigration and nationality 1965 (the same article later codified as ยง1187 of title 8, United States Code).

This article describes the conditions for visa facilitation. One of the conditions: applicant should be a citizen of Syria, Iraq and other “concern of the States” or, not having citizenship of these countries were not supposed to be there from March 1, 2011. Determine which country is “cause for concern”, the Ministry of internal security (Department of Homeland Security, DHS).

Seven of these countries included in the stop list of Washington even before the inauguration of the trump. As evidenced by the explanation on the website of the Border service of the USA at DHS, in addition to those of Syria and Iraq initially, the list of “concern countries” were Iran and Sudan.

In February 2016, two months after the adoption of the Law on the suppression of terrorist movements, the Agency of DHS has expanded the list to include Libya, Somalia and Yemen. This is because the act gave the Minister of national security have 60 days to determine what other States should be denied visa privileges by including in the list of “concern”.

While it is difficult to say how many people will relate to this the decree of the President of the United States. According to DHS, the 2014 green card received 1.02 million foreigners, of which 19.2 thousand were citizens of Iraq, 11,6 thousand โ€” Iranians. For the remaining five “unreliable” States the figures are so small that the Department has not carried them in a separate line.

On the other hand, the decree trump emphasizes that in the future the President on the recommendation of the Secretary of state or Minister of national security shall have the right at any time to extend the stop-list of such States.