The government has extended the embargo on food and 2018

The government has extended the embargo on food and 2018

MOSCOW, 5 July. /TASS/. The Russian government has extended the validity of the food embargo against several countries that have sanctions against Russia. The text of the document, ensuring execution of the presidential decree on the extension of these measures was published on the website of the Cabinet.

“Extended from 1 January to 31 December 2018 the ban on the import into Russia of certain agricultural products, raw materials and food, country origin which the United States of America, European Union countries, Canada, Australia, Norway, Ukraine, Republic of Albania, Montenegro, the Republic of Iceland and the Principality of Liechtenstein. These restrictions are aimed at the proliferation of special economic retaliation into separate States based on the extent of their involvement in the sanctions regime against Russia”, – stated in the note to the resolution.

Earlier the President of Russia Vladimir Putin signed a decree on the extension of Russian counter-sanctions until 31 December 2018. A few days earlier the European Union against Russia.

In 2014, the EU imposed sanctions against Russia in connection with events in Ukraine and the reunification of the Crimea with Russia and repeatedly expanded and renewed them. In turn, Russia in August 2014 has imposed retaliatory restrictions on food imports from countries that have imposed sanctions against her: EU, USA, Canada, Australia and Norway. The ban applies to the import of agricultural products.