Gatilov believes that the UN security Council should be presented to developing countries

MOSCOW, June 5. /TASS/. The UN Security Council should consider the views of developing countries to fit the current world situation. For this reform, which will be included in the composition of the new Council of representatives. This opinion was expressed by Russia’s permanent representative to the UN Office and other international organizations in Geneva Gennady Gatilov on Tuesday the newspaper “Izvestia”.

“The Security Council should adequately reflect the current and modern world realities. So, it should be more widely represented developing countries,” says the diplomat. He also noted that Security Council reform is increasingly on the agenda of the organization, so “the international community must find a solution for the reform of the security Council, which would effectively reflect the interests of all regions and ensured the adequate representation of all States”.

Gatilov added that the reform for which they required the consent of all the permanent member States is relevant, but “currently, none of the proposed variants of such support.” In addition, according to the Ambassador, the imposition of a solution may lead to a split in the international community.

“Then we certainly must not allow that, because our task now is to unite the efforts in the security Council to address important issues now facing the international community. While such a decision on the expansion of the Security Council, which would suit all States that are not visible. And we would like to continue the discussion on this issue, and hope that the option that satisfies all parties, will ultimately be found,” said Gatilov.

The Security Council is one of the five principal organs of the United Nations was established on 24 October 1945. The security Council consists of 15 members: five permanent and 10 non-permanent. The permanent members are China, Russia, UK, USA and France. The non-permanent members elected by the General Assembly for a two-year period. Five of the ten non-permanent members are subject to re-election annually.